Healthy Banana Oat Muffins

No, this isn’t a food blog and I’m far from competing in the fury filled kitchen on the next installment of Top Chef Canada, but these delicious little healthy sugar-free muffins have saved my carb-loving ass so many times in the midst of craving something decadent and sweet, without consuming a copious amount of sugar, which is a huge win for me.

My love of baking and cooking really started to diminish as I began to realize how horrible literally everything is for you these days, so I’ve really had to work on refining, testing and modifying a lot of the recipes that I love to make in order for them to agree with my sugar absorbing genetic makeup. Everyone I know always asks me for the recipe, so I thought I’d share it here…so, enjoy! Or just go to Tim Hortons and get yourself a fat-filled fruit explosion of happiness, whatever.

healthy banana oat muffins - sugar free and gluten free healthy muffins are a great kid friendly snack

Healthy Banana Oat Muffins

(Yields 12 muffins)

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups gluten-free rolled oats (honestly, I eyeball this so feel free to add more if your mixture is too liquid-y)
  • 3 ripe bananas
  • 1 egg (or two egg whites)
  • 1 scoop of protein powder (vanilla to boost the flavour or you can opt for unflavoured)
  • 1 tsp of vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 cup of chia seeds
  • 1/8 cup of pepita seeds
  • 1/2 cup semi-sweet mini chocolate chips
  • 1 tbsp of shredded unsweetened coconut flakes for garnish
healthy banana oat muffins - sugar free and gluten free healthy muffins are a great kid friendly snack

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease a muffin tin with coconut oil cooking spray.
In a medium-sized bowl, mash together the bananas (I usually use a potato masher to do this, but a fork will work just as well). Mix in the remaining ingredients and pour mixture evenly into muffin tins, sprinkling the shredded coconut on top as garnish. Bake in a 350-degree oven for 18-20 mins. Once they’ve completely cooled, I usually pop them in the freezer so I can grab them on the go, since they thaw fairly quickly.

There you have it, easy-peasy healthy sugar-free muffins!

xo
Barrie Lifestyle Blog - Shesallnat - Natasha Halikas

Follow me!  Instagram @shesallnat1    Twitter @shesallnat

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Wynne says:

    Tash I love your writings, sense of humour and the element of education in a subdued way. I look forward to reading more.♥️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment